Initiatives for China/Citizen Power for China joins with Top EU Legislators and NGOs to Appeal Against UNHRC Candidacies of China, Cuba, Russia, Saudi Arabia

Appeal Against Unworthy UN Human Rights Candidacies



We, the undersigned members of parliament, human rights activists and non-governmental organizations, call on you to publicly oppose the candidacies of Algeria, China, Cuba, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Vietnam, for seats on the United Nations Human Rights Council, elections for which will be held on November 12, 2013. We urge you to take action to defeat these manifestly unworthy candidacies, which threaten to cast a shadow upon the reputation of the Council-and of the United Nations as a whole.


Candidates for the UN Human Rights Council, according to General Assembly Resolution 60/251, are supposed to be countries that “uphold the highest standards in the promotion and protection of human rights.”


Yet it is widely recognized that Algeria, China, Cuba Russia, Saudi Arabia and Vietnam fail to meet these basic membership criteria. They have poor if not abysmal records on human rights protection at home, and on human rights promotion at the UN.


Rather than giving these non-democratic governments influence over vital decision on human rights, we urge you to introduce resolutions at the United Nations to hold these nations accountable, and to condemn their gross and systematic human rights violations.


Silence is complacency. For the sake of millions of victims worldwide who need a credible and effective international human rights body, please do not be silent.




Edward McMillan-Scott, MEP
European Parliament Vice-President for Human Rights & Democracy


Elmar Brok, MEP
Chair of Committee on Foreign Affairs, European Parliament


Guy Verhofstadt, MEP
Leader of Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE)
Former Prime Minister of Belgium


Baroness Deech
Member of the British House of Lords
Academic, lawyer, bioethicist, former Principal of St Anne’s College, Oxford


Baroness Ludford
Member of European Parliament, UK
Nonvoting member of the House of Lords


Honourable Irwin Cotler, MP
Member of Canadian Parliament, Liberal Party Critic for Rights & Freedoms, International Justice
Former Justice Minister & Attorney General


Emanuelis Zingeris, MP
President of the Parliamentary Forum for Democracy, Lithuania


Matyas Eörsi
Secretary General of the Parliamentary Forum for Democracy, former MP, Hungary


Frank Heinrich, MP
Deutscher Bundestag


Dr. Mantas Adoménas, MP


Michael Danby, MP


Egidijus Vareikis, MP


Bi-khim Hsiao
Member of the Legislative Yuan, Taiwan


Hans van Baalen
Member of the European Parliament, Netherlands


Hannu Takkula
Member of European Parliament, Finland


United Nations Watch
Hillel Neuer, Executive Director


Human Rights Foundation
Thor Halvorssen, President


Initiatives for China/Citizen Power for China
Yang Jianli, President


Council for a Community of Democracies
Robert LaGamma, President


The Gulf Institute
Ali AlAhmed


Mothers and Women against Repression, M.A.R. Por Cuba
Sylvia Iriondo, President


Viet Tan
Do Hoang Diem, Chairman


Cuban Democratic Directorate
John Suarez, International Secretary


United Towns Agency for North South Cooperation
Simonne Piazzini, Secretary General


Associated Country Women of the World
Sharon Hatten, UN Committee Chair


Gram Bharati Samiti (GBS)
Bhawani Shanker Kusum, Executive Director


Christian Coalition
Charles Mwape, President


Tashi Albertini, President


Gender Empowerment and Development (GeED)
Tilder Kumichii, Programme Coordinator


Consorcio desarrollo y Justicia
Carlos E . Tinoco